A kibbutz adopts the philosophy of Anthroposophy, a cult (or cult-like group) that follows the teachings of Rudolph Steiner, and early 20th century social philosopher and occultist. The kibbutz goes into the organic produce business and is successful. Tnuva then buys out the kibbutz and employs the kibbutzniks. The produce and foodstuffs get kosher certification from the Rabbinute. Time passes. Yad L'Achim, the haredi anti-cult organization, goes to the haredi rabbinic court Edah Charedis in Jerusalem. Edah Charedis issues a statement banning the produce from the kibbutz and labeling it non-kosher.
1. If the food is inherently kosher, how can it become "treife" due to the beliefs of the growers?
2. Outside of wine, which would be kosher without supervision if not for a specific rabbinic enactment made at the time of the Mishna to forbid non-Jewish wine, are there any other foods that have been banned because of who produces them?
[Cheese needs supervision because of the coagulating agents used, but others assert the reason for this rabbinic enactment from Mishnaic times was to separate Jews from non-Jews. Milk also has a kashrut reason, although some also hold this ancient rabbinic enactment was made to prevent intermarriage. Meat needs supervision because kosher meat and treife meat are indistinguishable and the incentive for cheating is high because of the price disparity between the two.]
3. Halakha does not ban the produce of idol worshippers, even Jewish idol worshippers, and does not question its kashrut status. Indeed, even prepared foods of idol worshippers are kosher, as long as the ingredients are kosher. What basis is there in Jewish law for Edah Charedis to declare Harduf foods non-kosher?